Hyderabad I, was one of the four Central Excise Commissionerates of Customs, Central Excise & Service Tax, Hyderabad Zone. This Commissionerate was entrusted with the task of collection of Central Excise duties, which were payable on all the goods (excluding goods manufactured in Special Economic Zones) which were produced or manufactured in India at rates specified in the Central Excise Tariff Act 1985, in the notified jurisdiction.   Further, this Commissionerate was also collecting Service Tax under the Finance Act, 1994 in respect of the notified services provided within the jurisdiction of this Commissionerate.

With the implementation of Goods and Services Tax Act,2017 effective from 1st July of 2017, The Customs, Central Excise and Service Tax, Hyderabad-I Commissionerate has been reorganised,restructered and renamed as Medchal GST Commissionerate.

For effective and efficient functioning of the organisation and to cater the needs of the ever developing Hyderabad with ease, the Medchal GST Commissionerate jurisdiction has been divided into the following eight divisions each headed by an Assistant/Deputy Commissioner:










        Medchal GST Commissionerate is headed by the Commissioner, who is the Administrative and Executive head of the Commissionerate. The Commissioner is assisted by Additional Commissioners/Joint Commissioners, Deputy Commissioners/Assistant Commissioner, Chief Accounts Officer, Superintendents, Administrative Officers, Inspectors,Executive Assistants, Tax Assistants,LDCs, Head Hawldars, Hawaldars, Sepoys etc in the order of hierarchy.

         The Divisions are further sub-divided into Ranges.  Each Division is headed by a Deputy / Assistant Commissioner and Range is headed by a Superintendent.  The Divisional Deputy/Assistant Commissioner is assisted by Superintendents, Administrative Officers, Inspectors, Executive Assistants, Tax Assistants,LDCs, Head Hawldars, Hawaldars, Sepoys etc in the order of hierarchy.